REN Update

The 2017 Asia Environmental Enforcement Award winners!
7 September 2017
On 7 September 2017 alongside the Asia Pacific Ministerial Summit on the Environment the Asia Environmental Enforcement Awards were presented to the eight winners.

Opening speeches were given by Mr Erik Solheim, Executive Director of UN Environment, Dr. Shamshad Akhtar, Executive Secretary of UNESCAP and H.E. Mr. Staffan Herrstrom, Ambassador for Sweden to Thailand. The Awards were handed over by Mr. Solheim, H.E. Mr. Staffan Herrstrom, Dr. Wijarn Simachaya, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment of Thailand and H.E. Ms Mithila Chaudhary, Minister of Population and Environment of Nepal. 

The winners are:

Anti-Smuggling Bureau China Customs
Multi departmental Mobile team of Myanmar
Environmental Protection Unit of Philippine Customs
National Management Office for Ozone Depleting Substances of China

and the individual winners:

Mr. Liu Xiahao, Director General Anti- Smuggling Bureau China Customs
Mrs. Enkhtuya Surenjay, Lecturer/ trainer of Mongolia Customs
Mr. R.P.D. Tharaka Seneviratne, Retired additional Director General of Sri Lanka Customs
Mr. Chang Ryung Han, Director of the Investigation Division of Korea Customs Service